The Homestead Act is designed to allow homeowners in Massachusetts to protect their primary residence against subsequent attachment, levy or sale to satisfy debts up to $500,000.
The Homestead Law does not protect against: taxes or mortgages used to purchase the residence.
Homeowners must file for the Homestead Act with The Registry of Deeds office in the county where your is located.
Massachusetts charges a one time Filing Fee of $35 for a Declaration of Homestead.
Please call us for more information or to find out where you should file.
Link: Declaration of Homestead Form (trusts)