Lemon Law

When life gives you a lemon … give it back!

Over the years, our clients have called asking about The Lemon Law …

Lemon Law

When life gives you a lemon … give it back!

Over the years, our clients have called asking about The Lemon Law.

To qualify for the MA Lemon Aid Law, your vehicle must fail an official Mass safety and emissions inspection within seven days of purchase.

Next, you must get a written estimate for the cost for the inspection-related repairs. If the repair estimate is for more than 10% of the purchase price of the vehicle, you can get a full refund from the seller (private party or dealer).

To get a refund you must return the vehicle to the seller within 14 days of purchase with a signed statement by the inspector of why the vehicle failed, a copy of the estimate and a letter telling the seller that you want to cancel the sale.

For more information, visit the Consumer Affairs website at http://www.mass.gov/oca or call (617) 727-7780.

The Lemon Law

 

According to the official website of Massachusetts, Mass.gov, their most requested topic of information on the internet is: The Massachusetts Lemon Law.
 
The Lemon Law allows MA consumers to void a vehicle sale if the vehicle fails to pass inspection within 7 days from the date of sale AND if the costs of repairs of emissions or safety related defects exceed 10% of the purchase price.
 
For additional details & forms, please visit:
 
The Massachusetts Lemon Law