What is an antique car or truck? Under MA antique license plate rules, an antique vehicle is a car manufactured at least 25 years ago, which is maintained for use in exhibitions, parades and other public events. If you are interested in Antique Plates there are certain rules to be aware of.
The Registry of Motor Vehicles designates antique plates as “restricted.” “Restricted to those vehicles over 25 years of age, restricted to test drives, movement of vehicles to and from repair locations, and public functions such as parades.”
Steps in the Massachusetts Registration Process
- Fill out and submit an insurance company stamped, RTA form.
- Submit previous, signed over, certificate of title.
Fees to Register an Antique Vehicle in Massachusetts
The Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles requires original, signed over title, antique vehicle application, RTA form (Registration and Title Application) and check payable to the “RMV.” Costs should be: $75.00 for new MA title, $50.00 for plates and 6.25% sales tax.The Registry of Motor Vehicles charges an annual fee of $50.00 for antique plates. The also charge $50.00 for year of manufacture plates.
VEHICLES that qualify
- Classic Cars
- Hot Rods
- Antique Cars
- Modified Cars
- Street Rods
- Exotic Cars
- Classic Motorcycles
Rules to follow
You can drive your car:
Your collectible car needs to be and must be stored inside in a secure locked garage or structure.
Insurance companies will not cover damage to antique vehicles done due to racing.
New Hands-Free Electronics Device Law While Driving – It’s the Law
The new Hands-Free Electronics Device Law distracted driving law takes effect on Sunday, February 23.
This law is a significant change for drivers 18 and over and traffic enforcement as well. The new law (Chapter 122 of the Acts of 2019) prohibits operators of motor vehicles from using any mobile electronic device, including a cell phone, unless the device is used in hands-free mode.
Drivers 18 and over are:
- Not permitted to hold or support any electronic device
- Only permitted to touch devices to activate the hands-free mode, and can only enable when the device is installed or properly mounted to the windshield, dashboard, or center console
- Not permitted to read or view text, images, or video displayed on a mobile electronic device; however, a driver may view a map generated by a navigation system or application on a mobile electronic device that is properly mounted
Drivers under 18 are not allowed to use any electronic devices. All device/phone use while driving is illegal, including use in hands-free mode.
Penalties for Violating the Hands-Free Law
- 1st offense – $100 fine
- 2nd offense – $250 fine, plus mandatory completion of a distracted driving educational program
- 3rd and subsequent offenses – $500 fine, plus insurance surcharge and mandatory completion of distracted driving educational program
Operators may use a cell phone to call 911 to report an emergency. If possible, the operator should safely pull over and stop before calling 911.
Please visit Department of Transportation website for more details. We’ve also included a link to an informational brochure below, that we ask you to review, post, and share with your customers and colleagues.
Questions About New Hands-Free Electronics Device Law?
Contact MA Department of Transportation at RMVATLASSupport@dot.state.ma.us with any questions you may have.
The Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles has announced that after December 12, 2019, they will no longer accept the familiar, triplicate RMV-1 and RMV-3 forms.
Replacing them is the new, single-copy: Registration and Title Application (RTA)
The RMV currently has a Registration and Title Application (referred to as an RMV-1) and a Registration and Title Amendment Form (referred to as an RMV-3). With ATLAS Release 2, these two forms have been combined into one — the new Registration and Title Application (RTA). This new RTA form supports additional information the RMV will use in their business processes after ATLAS R2 implementation. Examples include the garage address, expanded sales and use tax information, slight changes to the vehicle description, and a general layout that follows the screen flow in the ATLAS system.
NEW: Certificate of Registration
With ATLAS Release 2, the Certificate of Registration will be changing to include the Change of Address for Residential, Mailing, and Garaging.