The Massachusetts Homestead Act is designed to allow homeowners in Massachusetts to protect their primary residence against subsequent attachment, levy or sale to satisfy debts up to $500,000. The Homestead Law does not protect against: taxes or mortgages used to purchase the residence. Homeowners must file for the Homestead Act with The Registry of Deeds office in the county in which the residence is located.
Massachusetts charges a one time Filing Fee of $35 for a Declaration of Homestead.
Registry of Deeds Links:
|Registry of Deeds Offices: