New drivers in Massachusetts (or parents of a new, MA driver) should be familiar with the Massachusetts’ Junior Operator Law.
Some of these regulations include:
- The Junior Operator may not operate a motor vehicle within the first six (6) months after receiving a Junior Operator’s License while any passenger under the age of 18 is in the vehicle (other than the Operator or an immediate family member/sibling), unless the Junior Operator is accompanied by a person who is at least 21 years old. This person who is at least 21 years old must have at least one year of driving experience, hold a valid driver’s license from Massachusetts or another state, and must occupy the seat beside the Junior Operator.
- The Junior Operator may not operate a motor vehicle during the hours of 12:00 am (midnight) to 5:00 am unless accompanied by a parent or legal guardian.
Parents will want to talk with their new operators about the privilege, dangers & responsibilities of driving a motor vehicle. Practice with your new operator, buckle up & remember to drive safely!
Click here for a copy of the Massachusetts’ Junior Operator Law (pdf) brochure.